HomeФильмы и анимацияRelated VideosMore From: Justin Brown - Primal Video

Best Livestreaming Software on Mac? Ecamm Live Review 2018

190 ratings | 5463 views
Ecamm was one of our top live streaming apps for Mac last year, but is it still the best live streaming software for Mac in 2018? Here’s our updated Ecamm review! -- LINKS -- LINKS: ► Ecamm Live: https://primalvideo.com/go/ecamm-live Affiliate Links used where possible! *** GEAR WE USE *** https://primalvideo.com/gear 🚀 Join the Primal Video Accelerator waitlist: https://primalvideo.com/pvaccelerator 🚀 Learn how to build an audience, generate new leads on autopilot and SCALE your business with video step-by-step in our fast-track Primal Video Accelerator program! -- ~ Learn the ULTIMATE Process for Editing Videos Faster (FREE DOWNLOAD): https://primalvideo.com/the-primal-video-method/ ~ Become a Primal Video Insider (100% free) to access advanced workshops, bonus trainings, and regular PV updates: http://primalvideo.com/subscribe -- Ecamm Live: Best Live Streaming Software for Mac? -- Ecamm live is an incredibly well-priced option in the Mac live stream software landscape. It packs in a ton of awesome functionality, but there are a LOT of other options out there as well - so how does it stack up? In this video we dive into a review of Ecamm Live’s latest software in 2018, including the big updates since last year, and everything that's great - as well as the not-so-great... basically all the stuff you need to know to decide if it's the right option for your mac livestream setup! ********** GEAR WE USE: http://primalvideo.com/gear Check out all the gear we use and recommend at Primal Video! ********** --- Related Content --- - Best Live Streaming Setup for Smartphones: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jUgesX4g-Ho - Best Facebook Live Streaming Software: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mcf08YAPIkQ - How to Make Animated Titles for Video! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tRyTnOiAnsQ #LiveStreaming #Livestreampros #LivestreamingTutorial #HowToLiveStream #PrimalVideo DISCLOSURE: We often review or link to products & services we regularly use and think you might find helpful. To support the channel, we use referral links wherever possible, which means if you click one of the links in this video or description and make a purchase we may receive a small commission or other compensation. We're big fans of Amazon, and many of our links to products/gear are links to those products on Amazon. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and related sites.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (136)
Ileane Smith (4 months ago)
You're brilliant 😘 This is the best EcammLive video ever! I'm going to embed this in one of my blog posts where I talk about EcammLive. It's simply the best for Mac users. Bravo 👏🏽
Thanks Ileane! It's definitely an awesome piece of software, nothing else even comes close!
Daniele Cerrato (2 days ago)
I made 2h video with this programma but After 2 weeks doesn t show It. Why?
Great! What platform would you recommend for private streaming like paid classes? Basically I need a private place to host these classes, and have a chat to communicate with students...
Thanks! Great option :-)+Justin Brown - Primal Video
For our live trainings we use an unlisted youtube video, once the live is complete we upload the video to Vimeo and embed it on a private page.
Peter Coulson (7 days ago)
Can you sync audio and video from different sources with Ecamm
Peter Coulson (2 days ago)
+Justin Brown - Primal Video thanks I will stick to OBS for now
You can bring in different audio sources but i dont think there's any sync adjustments in there yet
Aly Pain (22 days ago)
Can I use ECamm to livestream to FB and IG at the same time? Can't seem to find the answer on their website.
yes, but you'll need to use ecamm live with restream or switchboard. They all play nicely together and they help with pushing the livestream out to multiple places
Jeff Robison (23 days ago)
I can’t find a speedrun tuner for Mac. I have put LiveSplit One into my stream but am not able to edit splits or input the splits once edited. Please help?
Rose Casanova (1 month ago)
Hey Justin, thanks for all the great tutorials. You are a youtube go to for all things video related. I am thinking of getting Ecamm live and noticed they changed their pricing model to a subscription based service. They now offer Standard or Pro at a monthly membership, which is discounted if you pre-pay. ($79 was a really good deal). Wondering if you could update and suggest which one would be suitable for doing Skype interviews. Thanks!
Thanks Rose, besides the price, and some new added features, nothing else has changed so probably won't be updating this for a while. If you want to livestream and bring in guests on skype this is the best option right now
Brandi Stroud (1 month ago)
Have you looked into the Ecamm Live and Crowdcast integration? I'd like to hear your thoughts on that.
I didn't know there was integration between the two..
Nick Murray (2 months ago)
I just finished my first live stream with Ecamm Live and the audio was only in Mono - How do I set it to stereo??
Maybe one for their support team
Apple Dapple (2 months ago)
Is it possible to use E-Camm Live with Castr?
Jeffrey Eatley (2 months ago)
Thanks Justin, I am trying to up my game and go live weekly and OBS is so annoying and because I am on a mac I can't use Streamlabs... So I think this might be the choice for me
So awesome to hear it! 😀
Seth James DeMoor (2 months ago)
You can't use Canon C100 with ECAMM : (
The Career Reset (2 months ago)
Hi Justin. Great video as usual. I want to stream to YouTube and FB at the same time. I'm assuming I'll have to use Restream. Where will I need to go to see comments? Restream or Ecamm. And is there a way to schedule LIVE on both FB and YT and still work through Ecamm and YouTube? I haven't figured that one out yet. Thanks for your help.
Weronika Dubois (2 months ago)
What kind of camera do you need to use ecamm?
Webcam, but can use more pro cameras too
Jack McAdoo (2 months ago)
How were you able to get the Camera Effects tab with the green screen option?
If it's not out yet, that must be included in the BETA version of the app. If you purchase then join the facebook group you can get access to it
Melanin Monroe (3 months ago)
How do I turn up the volume on my prerecorded video
BrickTsar (3 months ago)
Nick Nimmin chasing birds - lol! Thanks for overviewing this. I’m a MAC user and this looks like something I need to use. OBS was too complicated for me
😀 Not sure if Nick even knows that's in there hahaha Ecamm Live is definitely worth a trial and see if you like it, we love it!
OrlanDave (3 months ago)
I have been using Ecamm Live for a while now. I don't like how when I add new elements such as putting a chat message on screen, it changes the keyboard shortcuts of what I had already set. The addition of chroma Key is pretty cool! I'm running the current release of the software, and I can't find how to bring up the "camera effects" window, where can I find this?
OrlanDave (3 months ago)
+Justin Brown - Primal Video Thanks for the reply. I realized after I posted my comment, and visiting the Facebook group that it was probably the beta. I figured the hotkeys changing was just how it worked, didn't know it was potentially a bug. I'll try it again, as multiple non beta versions have been released since.Thanks for the video, and for the info on the Facebook group.
Green screen is in the beta release, so you'll need to join the facebook group to get access to that. I haven't experienced the same issue with the shortcuts changing, but definitely let them know and i'm sure they'll fix it
Romeo Mariano (3 months ago)
Ecamm Live can replace Screen recording software like Screen Flow.
yep!
Romeo Mariano (3 months ago)
Can ECAMM LIVE do GREEN SCREEN?
Romeo Mariano (3 months ago)
YES!
Yetunde Taiwo-Shorters (3 months ago)
I love Ecamm Live I bought it when it was $29.95 absolutely WELL WORTH EVERY PENNY.
Definitely!
WIIL WAAL Tv (3 months ago)
Great video
Thanks!!
Go Jaleo (4 months ago)
Use OBS it is free and not 80 dollars/
Captain Salsa (4 months ago)
I have been following you for some time and thank you for your valuable videos and your passions
Thank you! Appreciate the ongoing support :)
Mark Biallas (4 months ago)
Hey Justin, great video. After watching one of your reviews on Screenflow for the Mac, I purchased it and was ups and running in not time. Would Ecamm provide features similar to Screenflow plus all those specific features for liviestreaming? Would I use one (Screenflow) or the other (Ecamm) or both?
for screen recording, ScreenFlow does give you a lot more control as it records webcams, computer screens and microphones separately - meaning you can swap and change things around afterwards in your editing. Ecamm will just record everything as it was when you recorded it. so to swap back and forth between webcam and screen recording afterwards is not possible if it wasn't done at the time of recording.
Dionysius Benjamin (4 months ago)
hello @Justin I want to ask something a bit offtopic I wanted to ask about video editors approximately how many hours a 15 minute video takes to edit
Dionysius Benjamin (4 months ago)
+Justin Brown - Primal Video Thanx Justin
Way too many variables to give you an approximate answer.. How much footage you provide, how many mistakes you make, quality/type/ and bitrate of files you're providing and many more will all play a part. but the idea is at that rate, if your editor had to spend an extra hour or 2 it should still be well worth it!
Larry Baxter (4 months ago)
Wow that looks just incredible! Definitely going to take it on a trial run. It's between this and OBS, but certainly this is a lot easier to use. That ability to grab a comment from your screen is incredible :)
Awesome isn't it??
Olerato Kamohi (4 months ago)
Please make ,how to make reaction videos tutorial?Explained in detail if possible 🖤
Ron Wells (4 months ago)
Great update. I purchased Ecamm Live based on your previous review. Also own Wirecast. Does Ecamm plan to support Virtual Camera output similar to Wirecast?
Awesome to hear that Ron, best bet with a feature request it to post it in the facebook group.
Thank you for information, one day I will get the confidence to go live
Good luck! You can do it!
Maxim Sherstobitov (4 months ago)
Justin, how do you record stereo audio in the EccamLive? My audio comes out mono.
Fabrizio Aliprandi (4 months ago)
MimoLive is better
The Begg Family Antics (4 months ago)
I use ManyCam, OBS Studio (before OSX Mojave) on Mac and Streamlabs OBS on iOS. I run ManyCam on iOS to give me a second camera on the Mac. ecamm live seems VERY expensive for a retired guy at $79. I am not monetised in any way. That Skype feature is handy.
The Begg Family Antics (4 months ago)
+Justin Brown - Primal Video As a retired guy, spending that much on a piece of software I don't use every day would make me feel guilty . But I could try the trial.
For what it is ecamm live is up there with much more expensive software like vmix and wirecast.. and in comparison then the $79 is crazy cheap and a one time fee.. if you havent tried it yet might be worth the trial version and seeing how if fits for you before you purchase
Hassan Ahmed (4 months ago)
Great video, thank you! I’ve used Wirecast but this seems even better, so might have to switch to this. Do you have any suggestions on live-streaming video games on a Mac to YouTube? I have an Elgato Game Capture HD60 and I use my late 2013 MacBook Pro with 16GB RAM, and I just got Gigabit internet. With the Game Capture software from Elgato, I stream at 720p 30 FPS and I still always have some sort of technical issue. Whether it’s lag, the audio cutting out or my Game Capture software freezing mid-stream... I just can’t find a solution. I’m thinking it’s my MacBook maybe, but I was wondering if you had any insight into streaming games with a Mac.
Awesome!! 😎
iAmJoeStone (4 months ago)
This is way better just tried it with a similair setup to your and i can full 1080p best solution for mac hands down.
isitebuild (4 months ago)
I use it every week and love the way you can display comments while live. Good idea to use it for creating courses
Yeah it's amazing
Ecamm Live - my favorite live streaming software- thanks to Justin for introducing this software to me thru his last years video... Thanks Justin....
Thank you! So awesome to hear you're using it!
Nick Lomax (4 months ago)
i have used ecamm for a few months to make videos with my friends and it is really simple to use and does what i need it too
Awesome Nick!!!
PersianOcat (4 months ago)
Thanks, waiting livestream for poor people I Mean for window?
PersianOcat (4 months ago)
​+Justin Brown - Primal Video thanks
haha I think OBS or StreamLabs OBS could be the closest on windows
Me & Our World (4 months ago)
Thank you you are a Gentleman. so your friend Nike & his bro👍
Thanks!
Frank Stonehouse (4 months ago)
Ecamm Lives is awesome! No other program at this price point offers so many user-friendly features. I totally agree with your thorough review. Thanks!
Thanks Frank!! It's definitely amazing value
Tim B's TechTalk (4 months ago)
You mentioned that green screen was included with the latest version, but I don't see it. I also cannot find anything on their website that mentions it as a feature. I have version 2.3.7 (If you can, please share a link to that version. Thanks
If it's not out on the latest release it will be released REALLY soon. You can always get the beta version from the facebook group shown in this video.
Brad Poirier (4 months ago)
This is great I was just looking at this software and a few others. Glad to see a real world review.
Thanks Brad!
twominutetips (4 months ago)
TOTALLY agree that Ecamm is FAN-TAS-TIC and does so much more than most people need to create wonderful livestreams AND to just record videos and to re-purpose - saving lots of time. And comments being brought onto the page makes your audience feel special. Simply put Ecamm is "da bomb"
Awesome!!! Yep, there's really nothing out there that compares, especially for the price!
Mubeen Ahmed (4 months ago)
Hi Justin, do you think the developers have plans to bring this beautiful software to PC in the near future?
As far as I know, it's highly unlikely the'll make a PC version. Would be great though!
Tim B's TechTalk (4 months ago)
Thanks! I will try Ecamm, but I will also compare it to Zoom, which I also use. A commenter below found Zoom's quality to be much better.
Tim B's TechTalk (4 months ago)
Thanks for your feedback! +Justin Brown - Primal Video
Zoom would only be better IMO if you're wanting more than 5 people on live with you OR you have a really old mac. In my experience the quality is always much better on Ecamm Live and the recordings are much better too..
Professor Nez (4 months ago)
Great job Justin - awesome review, thorough and comprehensive
Thanks Professor Nez!! 👍 #neznation
Lenny & Sandi 4Ever (4 months ago)
Great video/information, Justin! As always, you put out very informative content--especially for young creators like myself trying to understand this world of tech.
Thanks Lenny & Sandi! Appreciate the feedback :)
Head in the Box (4 months ago)
Justin, I have v2.3.7 (latest version according to Ecamm) and don't see camera effects for green screen. Would you (or anyone else) direct me to this function on the menu? Thanks.
Captain Salsa (4 months ago)
Can I ask you to join me in the closed group ecamm on Facebook? I am waiting for acceptance for the 4th day:)
Head in the Box (4 months ago)
Thanks, I was accepted and have it now. Thank you, Justin.
Head in the Box (4 months ago)
+Justin Brown - Primal Video Justin, tried to join Ecamm live Facebook, but it is closed. Is this the correct group for the beta? Thanks again.
Thanks mate, definitely worth joining the facebook group just to get access to the beta! In my experience the beta has run really well with no real issues too
Head in the Box (4 months ago)
+Justin Brown - Primal Video Thanks, Justin. I've contacted Ecamm about three times over the past year over this, and each time they said that it was still in beta and would come out in their next major update. You are spot on about the advantages/disadvantages compared to the others, especially OBS. I keep going back and forth between the two, but prefer the stability of Ecamm; on the other hand, not having a chroma key is a killer.
Gord Isman (4 months ago)
Great details here on Ecamm! Can you tell me what you would consider to be the closest comparable product for Windows? Also, do you see tools like Ecamm eating into the market of the Screenflow type solution - what can’t you do with Ecamm? I’m thinking that if you plan livestream recording to have many elements in there, you minimize work in post as well.
Hey Gord! It has replaced the screen recording element of screenflow for me when I want to create something once with no (or just basic) editing - like course content. If I wanted to record with separate video layers for more advanced editing I'd use screenflow to split out the video, screen and audio recording into different tracks. Unfortunately there's no real competitors on Windows.. OBS or Vmix would probably come closest but also totally different at the same time.
Ecamm Live FTW!!! 😊
haha definitely!!
Doug Hewson YT (4 months ago)
+1 for Ecamm Live - I use it weekly live streams to YouTube . Most of the time I’m running the beta version to test out new features that always seem to be coming down the pipeline. Very happy with it on my aging 2012 MacBook Air ;)
Awesome Doug - love your weekly livestream! Great to hear it's working fine for you on a 2012 MBA!!
Max Powers (4 months ago)
SlingStudio at the moment pretty good so far I’m impressed a studio on an iPad.
Solid offering too with some good hardware integrations!
Qwonk (4 months ago)
Thanks for showing us how to stream daddy ❤️
hahaha no problem
Magdalena Koh (4 months ago)
Hi Justin.. afraid I cant value add which streaming sw as I have not started to do one. Having said that, thank you for this tutorial/advice and will carry on listening to your view...
No problem Magdalena! Hope you have an awesome break over the holidays
Touziq And Games (4 months ago)
Awesome video ever. Sir plz make video on (How to grow gaming channel). Sir U r a great YouTuber And u tell everything with Details. So plz make a video on this topic.
Thank you! I'll see what we can do
Kaylah French (4 months ago)
very good video Justin. love your videos. you look like chris martin
hahahaha thanks Kaylah!
tomstorm (4 months ago)
I find live-streams on my phone is easiest
Yeah that's a good option too, this just gives you more control and a lot more features
Hey Justin, I wanted to just raise one issue here. Andit’s just out of my own experience. I love Ecamm and purchased + used it, and I support the awesome developers behind it. but I found Zoom to be way more stable. As someone who live streams 1-2 times a week, I with I could use eCamm for this, but Zoom is more stable and delivers (somehow) better quality video to the stream (I use the HD Logitech 920). I’m waiting till ecamm gets better than Zoom, unfortunately I didn’t find them better as of 3 months ago when I made a full switch to Zoom (which are annoyingly adding their logo on every one of my lives but I prefer compromising branding-on-screen over quality of stream)
Frank Stonehouse (4 months ago)
​+Sagi Shrieber - Mindful & Ruthless Live-streaming to social media? Not per the help staff.... you have to pay a lot for that add-on feature.
Awesome mate, keep me posted for sure!
Justin Brown - Primal Video that’s great that you managed to do that with ecamm. Zoom is great for as many guests as you want btw, I use it in my live podcast interview recordings. You just put it in Gallery View and it can stream multiple guests. Following this video I’ll try to give Ecamm some more testing, and will update here in my findings :)
Frank Stonehouse Since a couple months ago even the basic plan has streaming :)
Hey Sagi! We use both for different things. If you want to have more than 5 people on, Zoom is the solution. If you have a low spec computer then zoom might also be the best option IF you're going to be putting your system under a lot with a heap of skype guests etc. Zoom doesn't offer much control or chat or anything like that and also in my experience the quality is not as sharp as Ecamm.. Not sure why this is the opposite for you.. we've tried with a lot of webcams and Ecamm wins for quality over Zoom hands down.. even with HD enabled in Zoom. Appreciate you sharing your experiences with both!
Luke Rowlette f9 (4 months ago)
This guys so helpful
Thanks Luke!
Katie Calls It (4 months ago)
Oooo this is just what I need! I’ve been streaming from my mobile and the quality is just not up to scratch. Thank you! 👌🏼👍🏼😎
Awesome Katie! Let me know how you go
m.k technical (4 months ago)
Hello sir
Hey there!

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.