HomeОбразованиеRelated VideosMore From: Singh in USA

MacBook Pro 15" Review for Programming: My Disappointment | 2018 Model

169 ratings | 7060 views
Here I present the Full length review of the MacBook Pro for Software Developers, Computer Science Students and for some beginner programmers. Also, my disappointment for this expensive mistake or this expensive purchase. ►US Links◄ Buy Macbook Pro: https://amzn.to/2VuC89N Buy Hub for Macbook Pro: https://amzn.to/2LThbAI ►Indian Links◄ Buy Macbook Pro: https://amzn.to/2SpFYmB Buy Hub for Macbook Pro: https://amzn.to/2Rsz3DQ Best MAC Alternative: US: https://amzn.to/2AhI1hD India: https://amzn.to/2TMdgIZ Linux/Unix is faster for Android Development: https://www.quora.com/Does-Android-Studio-run-faster-on-Ubuntu-or-Windows My gear:- Monitor: https://amzn.to/2TO97oy (US) https://amzn.to/2P76ZEY (India) Tripod: https://amzn.to/2DTjjHV (US) https://amzn.to/2w9DkDt (India) Lav Mic: https://amzn.to/2Ty9y6g (US) https://amzn.to/2MgypeQ (India) Phones: https://amzn.to/2QxIXo3 (OnePlus 6T/6) https://amzn.to/2Q5okne (iPhone XR) https://amzn.to/2Bbh8yC (Gaming Mouse) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ YOU CAN TALK TO ME!! Follow me on - Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/iHarnoor Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/iHarnoor E-mail for BUSINESS INQUIRY & HELP- [email protected]
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (107)
Singh in USA (1 month ago)
Skip To 5:54 for Conclusion in case you have less time. Check description for MacBook, and Mac alternatives.
anand yadav (7 days ago)
Hi buddy, I am planning to buy an Apple laptop for iOS development I know the obvious choice is MacBook pro But keeping the budget in mind Please advise will the newest version of MacBook air work or not I will be working on a project having 15-20 storyboard and a couple of simulator's running all the time Please advice🤔
Luis Guillermo Moreno (13 days ago)
i upgraded from a 2012 13 pro maxed out, to the base 2018 15 pro, is an upgrade in everyway except the integrated gpu that is not capable of smooth transitions in the uifor example when moving between spaces, the 2012 is buttery smooth, the 2018 is not with the integrated gpu, I had to make some tweaks to achieve acceptable spaces switch transitions
Shan Shaheem PV (1 month ago)
Hello Im recently a class 12 student I would like to know that, can you tell how you end up in Georgia from India as a computer science student I would like to talk to you Please tell me how....(through Instagram or Email)
DEEPAK KUMAR (1 month ago)
As from many days i am asking you for a personal guidance for the admission process for cornell please dont ignore and reply to my mail .. [email protected] please i need your help
JustCube (1 month ago)
Hi, I am in grade 7 and my school is an apple school, so I have to use a macbook of any type. I currently have the 2017 macbook pro and because I've used it for 2 years, it's starting to break. I also have a computer but because I'm in grade 7, I'm planning to sell my gaming PC and get a macbook of any type. My parents agreed that I can get a 15 inch macbook pro OR the macbook pro 13 inch touch bar. What should I get? Should I go for the 13 inch touch bar and save up some money? Because I'm a student, I only focus on academics. Or do you think I should get the new macbook air?
JustCube (1 month ago)
By the way, nice video. I subbed and liked! Your reviews are awesome.
Shikhar Verma (26 days ago)
Bhaiya, I am currently in 9th grade and am a IOI silver medalist (With that being said I have tremendous competitive programming skills and math aptitude ) so I can get a perfect score in SAT later but will I get accepted to Stanford/MIT with financial need below are my stats I have been maintaining 90% so hopefully I will do same in grade 12 Will be clearing NTSE Next year IOI Silver Medalist Google-Code-In Winner 2018 Also I have worked at Directi ( yup as a student worked on Directi platform codechef.com as a problem setter) I have my letters of recommendation from prof. Madhavan Mukund ( Wikipedia about him) I can get a perfect SAT anyday probably will give it in 11 or 12 grade Will MIT or harvard take me in?? As I need funding too....
Shikhar Verma (26 days ago)
Anyone tell me my chances
Austin Chanhsavang (1 month ago)
would you say this is worth it for the 13 inch MacBook Pro? I5 and 16gb RAM
Singh in USA (1 month ago)
It could be worth if you are sailing in the same boat like me and if you want to save time
Priyanshu Dudhat (1 month ago)
To use terminal [CMD] for coding in Windows, I would just type: set path="Path of my Python Folder" (For example: set path="D:\My Files\Python") Then, I would just type: python and it would load python terminal in it! and btw python kind of comes with its own terminal.
Priyanshu Dudhat (1 month ago)
+Singh in USA Always Welcome! 👍
Singh in USA (1 month ago)
True. Thanks for sharing
Priyanshu Dudhat (1 month ago)
Have to say, I am very impressed by your GitHub contribution and presence. Keep it up Bro!!! 👍👍👍
Singh in USA (1 month ago)
Thank you 😃
Sandeep panwar (1 month ago)
Hello brother Can we get your LinkedIn profile link I am in last year of engineering in india
Hamad Mushtaq (1 month ago)
good video. thanks
Hem Raj (1 month ago)
I'm 19yrs old in Jan can I still apply to us university.i want to start my course in 3-4months
Bhaskar Anjana (1 month ago)
High school graduate?
anonymous singh (1 month ago)
Kaisa hai bhai
Chai & Coaching (1 month ago)
Thanks Harnoor! Did you guys find these Pros and Cons to be helpful? BTW, you didn’t discuss about video editing capabilities 😜
Chai & Coaching (1 month ago)
Singh in USA sounds good. Thanks!
Singh in USA (1 month ago)
Yup. I will upload another video for that
abcd abcd (1 month ago)
Hey Risa this side u nailed it harnoor ,I wish u had trillions of subscribers
Chai & Coaching (1 month ago)
abcd abcd wow, trillions! 😃
abcd abcd (1 month ago)
+Singh in USA soooo sweet😊
Singh in USA (1 month ago)
Thank you so much😊
eSpark (1 month ago)
I did Hackintosh which is much more better than $xXXx Mac book pro... I could have used those $ to buy Decent Graphics Card... Ha Hacking always Wins.....
Shubham Jain (1 month ago)
hello bhai i dont know is this the right place to ask you but i have a question i want to know what is the steps between acceptance to i20. I mean do we have to attend the university interview before getting acceptance or we directly starts prep for loan after getting a clear acceptance, i am lil bit confused, wil i get a rejection after interview i mean what is the meaning of acceptance. Before interview or after interview, plz make me clear on this point
Shubham Jain (1 month ago)
Singh in USA bro this video did not tell me what i was asking about, But it ok. Thanks
Singh in USA (1 month ago)
Here are the steps: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8fEMqnZtNKo
Sumukh Ballal (1 month ago)
Bro expected a little more detail from you, the points you listed you get with pretty much any laptop( windows with dual boot/cygwin or a standard Linux laptop with much better hardware given the price point) . As a programmer, apple's keyboard is something I would like but I could get a much better one given the price point. MacBooks are a waste of money with old hardware with an overpriced price tag and apple is a company fighting against your right to repair. Check out Louis Rossman to further understand . Toach their own though, not hating.
Harshit Mehta (1 month ago)
these days we have python as our additional subject in class 11th and 12th......so would this enable us to skip a semester in college????
Singh in USA (1 month ago)
+Padmesh Jain Just saw it. Sending you my contact details now
Padmesh Jain (1 month ago)
+Singh in USA bhai patreon dekho
Singh in USA (1 month ago)
If you take AP only then. But extra knowledge will surely help in reducing the struggle.
Harshit Mehta (1 month ago)
nice....
Julian Dsilva (1 month ago)
Definitely agree with your point about speed with android development especially android studio.
HELLMASTER HACKS (1 month ago)
What about for cyber security?
Chai & Coaching (1 month ago)
HELLMASTER HACKS good question!
Bhargav Kumar (1 month ago)
Should i buy a MacBook air 2018 for programming. I have just finished my python and c++ class and want to start Android and iOS development as well as web development. Please help me to buy the perfect one i am very confused.
Anime best (1 month ago)
Yep it's good for bigenners
633K_4R1ND4M (1 month ago)
thanks
Elliott Smith (1 month ago)
In general, the advantages that you listed for macbooks are completely void if you just buy a nice pc laptop and dual-boot with Linux. All of us get exposed to Windows and (most of us) to MacOS - so for CS students it's good to be exposed to such an important OS as Linux (only about 2% of users use Linux, but roughly 99% of servers use Linux). Also, Linux gives you full admin rights in a way that's great for workers who want to customise, and for students who want to learn about the kernel and how to make use of shell for automation. Also - you can dual-boot with MacBooks, but it's much more risky!! Making a partition is always a little risky, but for PCs you can keep most of your computer (remembering to back-up first of course...), we just replace the SSD/hard drive (a lot less expensive than a full-replacement). However, modern macbooks have the SSDs hard-welded, and dual-booting voids much of your warranty - if that partition fails, that's A LOT of money wasted.
Elliott Smith (1 month ago)
+Singh in USA , Yes, I know that you still concluded that MacBooks aren't worth the extra price for most CS people - what I was pointing out is that even the positives listed are also positives for pc laptops with a Linux dual-boot (something simple to do for people who enjoy CS). You said that macs are more portable, but in reality they are just a little more skinny which doesn't make any *real* portability difference (and creates problems for outputting heat). Also, using a VM instead of dual-booting is A LOT more CPU-intensive. VMs are great for learning ethical hacking, and for doing something quickly on a different OS when you don't want to shut down everything in your native OS. But if you're spending a lot of time on Linux, it's a waste of your CPU and memory to be using a VM for this purpose. I actually think that one of the big positives with MacBooks (and one that I miss), is that all non-mac laptops have atrocious trackpads that click/grab things randomly, all day long.
Singh in USA (1 month ago)
You can install Windows on virtual machine on Mac. And students need portability, so Mac is better in that case. But I still mentioned in the conclusion that one should go for Windows as an entry level laptop
Kaustav Dey (1 month ago)
Hackintosh, okay 😂😂
ADITYA WAGHMARE (1 month ago)
bullshit bro why dont you do your usual thing
Anisha (1 month ago)
Hey Harnoor, How many programming languages are there in your course at GSU? Thanks.
Potato Gamer Sunny (1 month ago)
Hey harnoor. I just have one question. It's very difficult to get in to Columbia University. So can I complete my master's from Georgia Institute Of Technology and move to Manhattan for work. Is that a good idea?
Raj (1 month ago)
Google colab is a way to go for Macbook users.
TheCoffeeAddict (1 month ago)
MacOS is utilizes some unix-like components deep down. And keep away from Ubuntu. It can be as slow as spaghetti Windows. There are so many distros out there that will make you a better sys admin and a way better developer. Long live base installs.
Rahul Devgun (1 month ago)
I have macbook pro 13 2017 base model will it work for another 4 years for cse?
Chai & Coaching (1 month ago)
Definitely, most Macs last several years!
Rahul Devgun (1 month ago)
+Singh in USA thnx for replying... I have been watching ur videos for 2 months and i has been great for a person like u to be inspired im 16 and im interested in cse
Singh in USA (1 month ago)
Yes for sure
Manjinder Singh (1 month ago)
Hi bro! Do you have any GitHub page?
Singh in USA (1 month ago)
Yes GitHub.com/iHarnoor
smridhi sharma (1 month ago)
Nice!!
veipunii lana (1 month ago)
Thank for sharing What windows laptop do you recommend
Singh in USA (1 month ago)
I have linked an alternative in the description
Anime best (1 month ago)
Dell xps series is very good
Ashutosh Yadav (1 month ago)
I am going to Australia and I will be doing bachelor's degree in cyber security should I buy this or not . Thanks for telling 😊
Gajendra Ambi (7 days ago)
you should/must be using kali linux, a linux OS made for hackers and security experts
Singh in USA (1 month ago)
Correct entry level programmer should buy windows and then dual boot Linux.
Elliott Smith (1 month ago)
No. If you're a programmer/programming student you should use Linux 90% of the time. It forces you to learn about the kernel and become a system administrator. All of the positives that he listed are void if you just buy a simple pc laptop and dual-boot with linux (free!). Given that you're going into cyber security, you can use free virtual machines with kali-linux for ethical hacking (for this it will help to have more than 2 cores in your computer). But generally, apple tries to make life easy for average user, but as a result it won't let you meddle much as a programmer - which you should do.
Dhananjaya HD (1 month ago)
Can u please give me how can i get started with opencv
Tech Reviews (1 month ago)
Bro how can I increase my typing speed
Anh Tú Vũ (26 days ago)
Use the 10-finger typing technique. Download a practice software and practice. It only takes a few days to get used to and your speed will increase significantly
Priyanshu Dudhat (1 month ago)
+Tech Reviews Try Touch typing, using various online opensource websites. At the beginning, it might slow you down but after legitimate practice you would for sure gain up the speed.
Chai & Coaching (1 month ago)
Tech Reviews practice!
Tech Reviews (1 month ago)
+Qiancheng Fu bro I can type fast by looking at keyboard only but if I see the screen while typing, I can not type fast
Qiancheng Fu (1 month ago)
Practice, but I don't think you should be too worried about speed. If you can touch type you should be ok.
Coooool!😇😇😁😁
How do u control the errors in python? Any tips on that?
sharitha kattikoloth (1 month ago)
Nothing can beat Macbook's aesthetics.
Rohit Prakash (1 month ago)
Can a commerce student learn programming?
Priyanshu Dudhat (1 month ago)
Programming is kind of universal! Anyone can learn it. You can learn python or 'R' which will help you in statistics and data science but if you want to learn it for any other purpose then it is good to learn other programming languages.
Akshobh Kulkarni (1 month ago)
If you're planning a career in Finance, learning to program in a language like "R" and learning about Data Science can give you an edge over your competition.
Amit Kakde (1 month ago)
Yes! Why not? I'm science student. It depends upon you, In college you can take I.T.
himanshu saini (1 month ago)
nerd alert
Chai & Coaching (1 month ago)
himanshu saini hehe 😃😜
Rahul K R (1 month ago)
Make some video on how u develop an example android app, it will be fun
raven (1 month ago)
Just in 9th grade and asking my parents for money to sign up to your patreon .
Singh in USA (1 month ago)
This channel is 100% ad free. Thank you
aman kediyal _ (1 month ago)
Make a video on Android APP Development with making a real APP
TheCoffeeAddict (1 month ago)
Mobile apps? So 2010. . .
TEJAS T A (1 month ago)
MacBook Air 2018 , 8gb ram isn’t good for programming?
Chai & Coaching (1 month ago)
TEJAS T A it will be less powerful
Swapnil Mishra (1 month ago)
Excellent video
Nandana (1 month ago)
NICE VIDEO!!!
Hemant Kashyap (1 month ago)
Hey harnoor i emailed you.check it btw nice video
Akj Solution (1 month ago)
Cost of living in USA make a video please..
Chai & Coaching (1 month ago)
Akj Solution 😉
Akj Solution (1 month ago)
Okay 😊
Chai & Coaching (1 month ago)
Akj Solution expensive 😃
aman kediyal _ (1 month ago)
Was that kali linux @0:29
Priyanshu Dudhat (1 month ago)
+aman kediyal _ Literally just looked over his classic dark theme Mojave wallpaper and also the fact that Harnoor bought the Macbook Pro 15" 2018 version which comes with macOS Mojave.
633K_4R1ND4M (1 month ago)
+aman kediyal _ use or watch videos on youtube u can see the difference.....you mistook it because of terminal
sharitha kattikoloth (1 month ago)
+aman kediyal _ he lives in 2019
aman kediyal _ (1 month ago)
+Priyanshu Dudhat How do you know?
Priyanshu Dudhat (1 month ago)
It's macOS Mojave
Pranav Kumar (1 month ago)
Nice Video Harnoor Bhai
aman kediyal _ (1 month ago)
6th hahaha
ARYAN CHOUHAN (1 month ago)
Best video bhai ur best

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.